On Stage: SummerStage Festival

SummerStage Festival logo banner

Summer 2016 Main Events

“Pay-What-You-Can” performances

  • 6:30 p.m. Saturday, June 25, A Year with Frog and Toad
  • 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, July 6, Picasso at the Lapin Agile
A Year with Frog and Toad banner image

A Year with Frog and Toad

Robert and Willie Reale

Fri., Jun. 24, 2 p.m.
Sat., Jun. 25, 6:30 p.m.
Mon., Jun. 27, 2 p.m.
Tue., Jun. 28, 10 a.m.
Sat., Jul. 9, 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Jul. 13, 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Jul. 13, 10 a.m.
Thu., Jul. 14, 2 p.m.
Fri., Jul. 15, 10 a.m.
Sat., Jul. 16, 2 p.m.
W.M. Turner Auditorium

Directed by Angela Bacarisse.
Book and Lyrics by Willie Reale.
Music by Robert Reale.
Based on the Books by Arnold Lobel.

The beloved suburban amphibians leap to tuneful life as the irresistibly upbeat Frog lifts the spirits of his worrywart neighbor Toad. The director of the smash hit "Spamalot" and the summer kids' favorites "The Emperor's New Clothes" and "How I Became a Pirate" now brings you the only children's show ever nominated for the coveted Tony Award for Broadway's Best Musical!

“A Year with Frog and Toad” is presented through special arangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI. www.MTIShows.com

Press release: May 12, 2016
Press release: June 3, 2016
Press release: June 23, 2016
Press release: July 12, 2016

Single tickets: $7.50 for adult/senior/student. Purchase tickets online or by phone: 888.240.ARTS (936.468.6407).
Picasso at the Lapin Agile banner image

Picasso at the Lapin Agile

Steve Martin

Tue., Jul. 5, 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Jul. 6, 7:30 p.m.
Thu., Jul. 7, 7:30 p.m.
Fri., Jul. 8, 7:30 p.m.
Tue., Jul. 12, 7:30 p.m.
Thu., Jul. 14, 7:30 p.m.
Fri., Jul. 15, 7:30 p.m.
Sat., Jul. 16, 7:30 p.m.
W.M. Turner Auditorium

Directed by Inga Meier.

The legendary stand-up comic, actor and writer imagined this hilarious meeting between a would-be scientist called Einstein and an irresistible but unknown painter named Picasso. It's 1904 in a Paris cafe called the "Lapin Agile" ("Nimble Rabbit"—you don't have to pronounce it to love it!). Wit and whimsy fuels their talk of creativity and inspiration with the bistro's unforgettable cast of regulars until a very different kind of genius mysteriously arrives from the future to "rock" their world!

“Picasso at the Lapin Agile” is presented by special arrangement with SAMUEL FRENCH, INC.

Press release: May 12, 2016
Press release: June 3, 2016
Press release: July 5, 2016
Press release: July 12, 2016

view content advisory

Single tickets: $15 for adult, $10 for senior, $7.50 for student. Purchase tickets online or by phone: 888.240.ARTS (936.468.6407).
Accredited by NAST: National Association of Schools of Theatre