On Stage: Student-Directed Productions

2017–2018 Season

Pitching to the Star

Fri., Sep. 22–Sat., Sep. 23
Downstage Theatre

A one-act play by Donald Marguiles

Press release: September 18, 2017

Single tickets: $4 for adult/senior/student. Purchase tickets online or by phone: 888.240.ARTS (936.468.6407).

Thank You for Protesting

Fri., Oct. 13–Sat., Oct. 14
Downstage Theatre

The Stephen F. Austin State University School of Theatre will present Paul Adam Levy’s one-act play “Thank You For Protesting” at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 13, and at 2 and 7:30 p.m. Saturday. Oct. 14, in the Downstage Theatre on the SFA campus.

Directed by Mesquite senior theatre major Taylor Solice, “Thank You For Protesting” is a satire about a citizen’s right to protest.

Tickets are $4. For tickets or more information, call the SFA Fine Arts Box Office at (936) 468-6407 or visit theatre.sfasu.edu.

Press release: September 29, 2017

Single tickets: $4 for adult/senior/student. Purchase tickets online or by phone: 888.240.ARTS (936.468.6407).

Baby with the Bathwater

Fri., Oct. 27–Sat., Oct. 28
Downstage Theatre

The Stephen F. Austin State University School of Theatre will present Christopher Durang’s full-length play “Baby with the Bathwater” at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 27, and at 2 and 7:30 p.m. Saturday. Oct. 28, in the Downstage Theatre on the SFA campus.

Directed by Center senior Avery Tindol, “Baby with the Bathwater” is a dark comedy about the struggles of both parenthood and childhood. It is recommended for mature audiences.

Tickets are $6. For tickets or more information, call the SFA Fine Arts Box Office at (936) 468-6407 or visit theatre.sfasu.edu.

Press release: October 17, 2017

Single tickets: $6 for adult/senior/student. Purchase tickets online or by phone: 888.240.ARTS (936.468.6407).

Lynette at 3:00 AM

by Jane Anderson

Wed., Feb. 14
Downstage Theatre

Directed By: Connor Morrison

Admission is Free

TBD

Fri., Feb. 23, 7:30 p.m.
Sat., Feb. 24, 2 p.m.
Sat., Feb. 24, 7:30 p.m.
Downstage Theatre

Directed By: Cecily Maucieri

Single tickets: $6 for adult/senior/student. Purchase tickets online or by phone: 888.240.ARTS (936.468.6407).

Tape

by Jose Rivera

Wed., Feb. 28, 4 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 28, 4:30 p.m.
Downstage Theatre

Directed By: Katie Irwin

Admission is Free

SINGERS

by Thom Weidlich

Wed., Mar. 7, 4 p.m.
Wed., Mar. 7, 4:30 p.m.
Downstage Theatre

Directed by: Kaitlyn Kirby

Admission is Free

Haiku

by Katherine Snodgrass

Fri., Mar. 23, 7:30 p.m.
Sat., Mar. 24, 2 p.m.
Sat., Mar. 24, 7:30 p.m.
Downstage Theatre

Directed By: Tevia Loeser

Single tickets: $4 for adult/senior/student. Purchase tickets online or by phone: 888.240.ARTS (936.468.6407).

Nine

by Jane Shepard

Fri., Apr. 6, 7:30 p.m.
Downstage Theatre

Sat., Apr. 7, 2 p.m.
Sat., Apr. 7, 7:30 p.m.

Directed by: Marie Phillips

Single tickets: $4 for adult/senior/student. Purchase tickets online or by phone: 888.240.ARTS (936.468.6407).

Untitled #2

by Jim Gordon

Wed., Apr. 11, 4 p.m.
Wed., Apr. 11, 4:30 p.m.

Directed by: Mahayla Kissman

Admission is Free

If We Kiss

by E.M. Lewis

Wed., Apr. 18, 4 p.m.
Wed., Apr. 18, 4:30 p.m.

Directed By: Davis Gilmartin

Admission is Free

What Remains of Youth

by Erik Gernand

Mon., Apr. 23, 4 p.m.
Mon., Apr. 23, 4:30 p.m.

Directed By: Olivia Santone

Admission is Free

Accredited by NAST: National Association of Schools of Theatre